> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/data-privacy-docs/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/data-privacy-docs/guides/data-privacy-faq.md).

# Data Privacy FAQ

### Backend Account data retention period

**When a backend account is deleted, all associated data is permanently removed.** Backend accounts can only be deleted by users with the [appropriate permissions](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/account-docs/guides/manage-team-roles-and-permissions#what-are-the-team-user-roles).&#x20;

### App User Account data retention period

**App users can choose to delete their accounts via the app, in accordance with GDPR guidelines.** If a platform has an **auto-retention policy** in place, app users will be notified, marked as inactive, and scheduled for deletion after a set number of days if they haven’t interacted with the app.

{% hint style="info" %}
Deletions of app user accounts are recorded for transparency and compliance, with records available to applicable accounts in the Data Privacy Feature.
{% endhint %}

### **Auto Retention Policies**&#x20;

**If the auto-retention policy is disabled**, the privacy policy (Section 12.3) states: \
*“When you do not exercise your right to be forgotten, we will retain your data for research and reference purposes in the interest of product optimization and legacy functionality as long as you maintain a relationship with us. However, we may keep your information beyond this relationship for legitimate reasons, including addressing any inquiries you may have or satisfying fraud or legislative requirements.”*\
\
**When the auto-retention policy is enabled**, the privacy policy (Section 12.3) states: \
*“To avoid retaining your data beyond its intended use, your profile and personal data, as well as App Data, will be permanently deleted after 365 days of inactivity. You will be notified via email prior to deletion. To retain your inactive account, simply sign in to the App/Platform.”*\
<https://author.uk.bytekast.io/legal/privacy/>

{% hint style="info" %}
The [platform operator](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/guidelines-and-policies/support/support-roles#platform-operator) is responsible for maintaining relevant privacy protocols when exporting or handling user data outside of the platform. Contact your platform operator to enquire about the auto-retention policy implemented on their iteration.
{% endhint %}

### Is the data deleted permanently, or can data be recovered?

**Once a backend account or app user account is deleted, the data is permanently removed.** For app user logs pertaining to backend account analytics, this information is anonymised and cannot be recovered.

### Is there a documented process on the platform's data deletion?

**For Backend Account Data Compliance**, please refer to the following documents: \
<https://dataprivacy.everydaydocs.io/>\
\
**For App User Account Data Privacy**, please see: \
<https://learningapp.everydaydocs.io/guide/data-privacy>
