> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/analytics-docs/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://everyday-digital.gitbook.io/analytics-docs/content-specific-analytics/story-builds.md).

# Story Builds

## What is a Story Build?

**Every time you publish a story, a new Build version is created**, e.g. 1.0.0, 1.0.1, 1.0.2, etc.

Build versions allow authors & admins to **keep track of the different versions** they publish. Whenever an update is made and a new version is deployed, your users can access the update and re-do the new version of the story. In Analytics, this becomes important as we track who has completed which version of the story.

> **Note:** It is very likely that not all users will update their story and re-do every time you release a new version. For this reason it is strongly recommended to minimise the number of story builds. Make sure your story is perfect before you publish it.

## Build Dates/Archives

To see a story's build/version history:

1. Open a story
2. Select **TOOLS** from the top menu
3. Select **BUILDS & ARCHIVES** from the dropdown to see all the builds and date when each build was released

## New Story Build

If a user has started a story but not completed it and the author publishes a new version, any new pages that are added to a chapter will cause that chapter to become incomplete.

This is so that new content can be completed by the user.

**Scenario:** INTERACTIVE STORY TYPES ONLY\
Bob starts Story A and gets to Chapter 3 of 6. Then, a new story build is released with changes to chapter 2. Bob continues the story from chapter 3. When he completes chapter 6 he will see that the story is incomplete and that he needs to go back to Chapter 3 to complete the pages that were added.&#x20;

## Lost Logs

There are a few situations **where logs can be lost.** The platform has worked hard to minimise the gaps of multi-device log syncs, but the following scenarios have been identified:

#### Offline Story

**Scenario:** If a story is downloaded for offline and completed offline.

These logs eventually upload once the **device has found connectivity.** However, if a user decides to **uninstall** an app whilst offline, and logs have not uploaded, the logs will be **deleted permanently and are not retrievable**.
